Kuala Lumpur, 26 May 2016: The Construction Industry Transformation Programme (CITP), Malaysia’s national blueprint for a transformation of the construction industry, took an important step forward towards its full implementation with the recent establishment of 23 committees. The committees comprise 115 industry leaders from the public sector and 113 from the private sector.

The establishment of the committee is part of the governance structure which is critical for the success of the CITP. The committees, which are called Initiative Working Group (IWG) for CITP, are entrusted to steer and monitor the implementation of the 18 initiatives under the CITP spread over four strategic thrusts. The 18 initiatives incorporate clear objectives and KPIs, timelines and key stakeholders involved, particularly those from the industry.

“The IWGs are composed of key individuals from the Ministries, agencies and industry players, reflecting the importance of getting the buy-in from all stakeholders. This is in line with the CITP tagline, Driving Construction Excellence Together,” said Dato’ Ir. Ahmad ‘Asri Abdul Hamid, the Chief Executive of CIDB.

The IWG will report to the Thrust Working Group (TWG), representing the four strategic thrusts of CITP:

  1. Quality Safety and Professionalism:
    TWG Chair: Dato’ Sri Zohari Haji Akob, Secretary General, Ministry of Works
    Co-Chair: Dato’ Ir Jauhari Hamidi, Managing Director, Property Division, Sime Darby.
  2. Environmental Sustainability:
    TWG Chair: Tan Sri Ir. Dr. Jamilus Hussein, President/Chief Executive Officer of KLIA Premier Holdings Sdn Bhd
    Co-Chair: Datuk Lim Keng Cheng, Managing Director of Ekovest Bhd
  3. Productivity:
    TWG Chair: Dato’ Sr. Srikandan Kanagainthiram, Managing Director of KPK Quantity Surveyors Sdn Bhd
    Co-Chair: Datuk Kwan Foh Kwai, Non-Independent Non-Executive Director of Sunway Construction Berhad
  4. Internationalisation:
    TWG Chair: Tan Sri Dr. Ir. Ahmad Tajudin Ali, Chairman of CIDB
    Co-Chair: Dato’ Sri Ir. Dr. Judin Abdul Karim, Former CIDB Chief Executive and Chairman of CIDB Holdings

The TWGs will be responsible to address roadblocks in the implementation of the CITP, and when necessary, escalade issues up the chain to the CITP Ministerial Committee chaired by the Datuk Sri Haji Fadillah Yusof, the Minister of Works. The Ministerial Committee will be accountable for the success of the CITP and will provide periodical updates to the cabinet and the Special Committee on Services Sector chaired by the Prime Minister, Dato’ Sri Mohd Najib Tun Abdul Razak.

The CITP Working Groups are part of the robust governance structure put in place as one of the three enablers identified to be essential for the success of CITP. These three enablers are robust governance, strong coordinating body and effective industry collaboration.

To fulfil the need for a strong coordinating body, CIDB has established a Programme Management Office (PMO) last year to track and monitor the progress of the CITP targets. In line with the effective industry collaboration, to date CIDB has signed collaborations with 42 organisations in various fields such as training, implementation of quality, safety and sustainability tools and guidelines. In addition, 158 organisations have signed the CITP Pledge.

The CITP was launched on 10 September 10 2015 by Prime Minister Dato’ Sri Mohd Najib Tun Abdul Razak, as part of the 11th Malaysian Plan to transform the construction industry towards achieving excellence by 2020.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *